Like a leaf on the wind…

For Amy, rest in peace.

I started thinking about Amy again today…

It’s been a week after finding out about her losing her battle with cancer, I couldn’t stop crying…I still feel a ball of sadness.

Her spirit, her courage, her strength, it was all just amazing.

She was not only an amazing content creator in Second Life, but she was one of the sweetest, most gentle souls I had ever met.

“I had ever met.” It’s silly to say that…

We never meet each other outside of our internet world, we always talk about each other as if we’ve been friends for years, and some of us have, but most of us have never met and may never meet one another.

Yet, here in our own little virtual world, we are each other’s best friends, parents, siblings, children, and partners.

We share our daily lives with each other like we’re 10 minutes away from one another, yet we can be miles, even continents away.

People say that SL is just a game, a “social networking platform” full of sex and vile things.

It’s true, but that’s only one side of the coin.

If only they knew the other side…

A side of caring, of giving, of grieving when we lose one of our own, one of us that has touched so many, in more ways, that it feels like we lost a dear friend that has been with us for many years.

I barely knew Amy, I only knew her through SL, and only talked to her a handful of times, but even with that small amount, I still considered her a dear friend of mine, someone who cared, genuinely, about what happened to the people around her,

She never once wavered, faltered, or complained  about her condition.

Hell, she was more concerned about how her nails looked, then how many days she had left…

I miss her.

I miss her funny geeky moose addicted self, the way she got excited over some of the silliest things.

I’m not the only one who feels this way, I know I’m not, and I’m glad that so many people were touched by her, if only once, or if only for a short time.

She flew into our lives and out again, like a leaf on the wind…

Now, to show you something that, I think, is one of the most sincere, most amazing things someone can do for someone else.

The owner of Dust Bunny, lxlnoel, made a memorial garden for Amy.

It’s literally stunning and features things that Amy loved.

From the moose on the bottom, the T.A.R.D.I.S on top, all the way down to Stitch releasing a leaf, these were some of her favorite things in life, and to see them here on a memorial, it’s just breathtaking.

Even including her Second Life name.

Thank you, lxlnoel, for making something so beautiful in Amy’s memory.

You can get your own copy of the Memorial Garden for free at the Dust Bunny Mainstore, right in the main area of the building.

Shown: dust bunny . amy’s memorial garden

Snapshot_001

Snapshot_002

Snapshot_003

3 thoughts on “Like a leaf on the wind…

  1. Beautifully written, I share your feelings. Wrote about her passing two days ago on my blog, when I discovered I couldn’t attend the memorial. Cried my eyes out while writing it. Today was actually the first day I was without any bad feelings. In the end, I’ll smile at her memory. I think she left many of us with a gift of strength and positivity, and I’m thankful for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

